New Year's Resolutions

My new sewing machine - the Project Runway edition!

So, another Christmas has come and gone and a new year is about to begin. A new year which means new beginnings and new resolutions.  And as I look forward to what a new year will bring, I’ve got some resolutions of my own for 2011. I won’t bore you with all of them, but in regards to fashion and style my new year’s resolution is to learn to knit and to sew. That’s right, I’ve decided to tap into my inner craftiness (although I’m not quite sure if this part of me really exists…but we’ll find out) and I’m going to try to make myself a few articles of clothing.  I think I’m drawn to these activities because the last few years of my life have been so crazed with completing an MBA and becoming a new mom, I’ve just had little to no time to pursue any activities that aren’t absolutely necessary to my life (like eating and sleeping…ha!). Pre-graduate school and baby I have always loved taking part in lots of different activities – from tap dance classes to creative writing seminars to golf lessons – and I’ve always loved trying new things. Now as a new year starts, although I’m still busy figuring out how to be a mom and to raise my infant son (and at some point incorporate my career back into the mix), I’m excited to try my hand at these crafts.

So to kick things off I’ve decided that my first goals will be to knit an infinity scarf and to sew a tunic I can wear in the summer. And I’m already on my way because for Christmas I received knitting needles, two skeins of yarn, and a brand new sewing machine (the Project Runway edition by Brother no less!). So I’m off…sort of. Now I just need to learn to knit and sew! This should definitely be interesting as I go along, but I’m bound and determined to wear something that I made myself this year so if determination has anything to do with my success, then hopefully I’ve got a shot. In any case, as I journey through this adventure, I’ll be sure to post updates on my progress here on my blog. And by all means, if anyone has any tips or encouraging words for me, send them my way, I’d love to have them.  And for those of you with resolutions of your own for 2011, share them here if you want and we’ll cheer you on. With that, here’s to a happy new year! See you all in 2011!

4 thoughts on “New Year's Resolutions

  1. anne says:

    Very impressed with your resolution! Be sure to post any finished projects. My mom always wanted me to learn to knit and now I kind of wish I would have listened to her.

  2. MzKrz says:

    I taught myself to knit using the “Stitch ‘n Bitch” book. It has good instructions and a few patterns. I have since gone back to my crocheting roots, but am happy to say I know how to knit (just not very well!)

Leave a Reply

