Golden Globes Wrap-Up

So, it’s Friday and I’m just now getting around to writing about the fashion we saw at the Golden Globes last Sunday. What can I say, it’s been a busy week. (But TGIF, btw!) In any case, when it comes to Hollywood award shows, I have to admit that I really don’t care all that much about the awards themselves. But what I do love is watching the red carpet as the celebrities arrive before the show starts. So this past Sunday when the Golden Globes awards show aired, I made sure I was tuned in to E! for all of the red carpet coverage before the awards were actually handed out. While watching the celebs strut their stuff, I saw several dresses that I really loved (and of course, some that I really wasn’t wild about). I love sparkle, so most of the dresses that caught my eye had some significant bling going on in the way of sequins and crystals and other embellishments. One of my top favorites of the night was Olivia Wilde’s dark coffee-colored and sequin-adorned gown by Marchesa. I loved that the color was a little different from what we normally see out on the red carpet and the sequins of course were gorgeous. Other favorites of mine from the night were dresses worn by Carrie Underwood (Badgley Mischka), Julie Bowen (Tadashi Soji), Anne Hathaway (Giorgio Armani Prive), and Jennifer Lopez (Zuhair Murad). A lot more sequins and shine going on with most of these, and in the case of Bowen, some really pretty flower details. So who were your favorites? There were a lot more great gowns on the carpet so what were your thoughts? How about Claire Danes’ minimalist look? Or Natalie Portman’s loose-fitting pink gown to allow for her baby bump? Or how about Halle Berry or Sandra Bullock? Any thoughts on what they were wearing? It seemed there were a few trends going on but still a lot of variety out there. So let me know what you thought. And for those of you that loved some of these looks enough to wear yourselves, without the designer price tag of course (and if you’re lucky enough to have some sort of fabulous event to wear them to) I heard this morning that knock-offs of some of these gowns are already in the works. They should be available in 6-8 weeks, so get out your wallets girls and start the fitness routine now. 😉

Okay, that’s it for this round of awards show wrap-up. I hope you all enjoyed the fashion as much as I did. Happy Friday and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

