Brave the Cold for Winter Sales!

It may be cold and blustery outside, but winter sales are heating up! (Image courtesy of Filomena Scalise/Freedigitalphotos.net)

So, I know that retailers are all starting to show off their spring collections now, but given the massive winter storms much of the U.S. has seen recently I’m having a hard time believing that I’ll be sporting any warm weather fashions any time soon. From my vantage point here in lovely southeast Michigan, Old Man Winter doesn’t seem to be in any hurry to move on. As I write this, I’m sitting here with a foot of snow on my lawn and the temp for today started out at a balmy ZERO degrees – that’s Fahrenheit people, not Celsius. Argh.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m more than ready to swap my sweaters for short sleeves and to start trying on some new spring trends – and I’ve actually made a few purchases already that I’ll write more about later – but at least for the foreseeable future, I think my winter wardrobe is going to have to maintain its front row placement in my closet. And for those of you out there in the same blizzard – I mean boat – as me, I don’t know about you but I’m feeling like I could use a couple of new winter pieces to get me through the rest of this neverending season. At this point in the season, I feel like I’ve worn every warm article of clothing I have at least 30 times and I’m just so darn tired of pulling these things out of the closet day after day. I would love to put on something new, but there’s just no way I’m pulling off a spring look right now. So what’s a fashionista to do? Two words – winter + sales….That’s right, as luck would have it, we’re at that point in the season now where retailers have slashed prices on their winter inventories to make room for spring lines and there are some great deals to be had out there. Normally at this point in the season I’m not willing to spend any of my budget on clothes that I may not get much use out of right away, but this year I’m figuring I’ll be in sweaters for at least another six weeks. So with that in mind, I’ve done some surfing around some popular retail sites and have put together a list of some of the fun (and discounted!) winter items out there to be had. So what are you waiting for? (I hope it’s not spring, that could be awhile…) Get out there and grab up some of these deals! And if you see anything else along the way, let the rest of us know about it too! Happy middle-of-this-neverending-winter, All! 😉

Merona Collection Merino Wool Sweater in Mint Air (Target) – $27.98

Colin Stuart Whipstitch Boot (Victoria’s Secret) – $79.99

Snowball Vest (LL Bean) – $59.99

Velvet Schoolboy Blazer (J. Crew) – $49.99

Modern Cowl Neck Sweater (Ann Taylor) – $49.99

One thought on “Brave the Cold for Winter Sales!

  1. Anne says:

    I just bought this sweater in both grey and red. I like the weight and how they are not itchy.
    http://www.anntaylor.com/catalog/product.jsp?productId=27407&defaultColorNameFromCrosell=Light%20Heather%20Grey

Leave a Reply

