Hot Spring Colors

From coral to tangerine and all shades in between, orange is a hot color for spring. (H&M dress/$24.95)

Hello All! So, after my last post I think I scared Mother Nature into throwing some warm weather my way. While much of this winter has been downright brutal, last week I think we finally saw a glimmer of spring as the temps in my area reached into the 50’s! Sadly, it wasn’t here to stay and we’ve still got some winter weather to get through before spring officially arrives, but hallelujah for a brief respite from the cold! Of course, now that we’ve gotten a taste of some warmer weather, I’m getting more and more excited for new spring fashions and I have to admit that I’ve actually bought a couple of items already.  For this spring the hot trend in colors seems to be bright bolds – like hot pink, kelly green, and cobalt. Orange is also another shade that we’re seeing a lot of. It’s showing up in various shades throughout many retailers’ spring lines and it feels so fresh and warm, a welcome change from this blustery winter we’re having. One of my recent spring purchases – a striped knit dress from H&M –  plays on this color trend in a subtle sort of way. The dress was just $24.95 and its wide stripes are made of a terracotta-y coral color as well as heather gray. It’s a great way to incorporate the orange trend into your wardrobe if you’re the type that prefers a more neutral sort of look. The dress is really comfortable and I can see wearing it with flats while running errands, or dressed up with a belt and sandals for a casual dinner out this spring or summer. Now, if you’re loving the idea of incorporating some orange into your spring wardrobe and need some more inspiration, I’ve done some searching and have put together a mix of options – ranging from bright monochromatic orange pieces to more neutral items that offer just a splash of the color. Regardless of what your preference may be, I think we would all be happy to see a little more orange in the way of sunshine high in the sky. Here’s to hoping spring comes quickly… Happy shopping! 

Women’s Pleated Pattern Skirt – Land’s End Canvas ($59.50) 

Wrap-Around Cardigan – Zara ($39.90)

Cap Toe Patent Ballet Flat in Camel/Coral – Gap ($39.99 – on sale) (Note: I recently bought these with the black cap toe and I love them!)

Elbow Sleeve Contrast Placket Cardigan Sweater – Lacoste ($155)

“Pretty Nylon Little Tate” Tote in Rock Lobster/Marc by Marc Jacobs – Nordstrom ($158)

Leave a Reply

