2011 Oscar Fashion!

Hollywood celebs lit up the red carpet with fabulous fashion at the 83rd Annual Academy Awards. (Image courtesy of Salvatore Vuono/Freedigitalphotos.net)

Happy Monday, All!  I hope everyone is recovering from all of the glitz and glam of the Oscars that we saw yesterday. I had a front row seat on my couch to take in all of the action on the red carpet and action there was! I have to say, I saw so many fantastic dresses out there that it’s been hard for me to decide who I would say was best dressed last night. But after letting my thoughts on this marinate all day, I’ve got to say that I really think Mila Kunis should walk away with this one. Out of everything I saw I just keep coming back to her dress, it’s the one that has just really stuck out in my mind. It wasn’t a sparkly eye-catcher, but it was just so pretty and light and elegant looking. The media is reporting that the dress was lavendar, but to me on my TV screen it looked more like a cornflower blue. Either way, I thought it suited Kunis so well and there really wasn’t anything else out there yesterday that was quite like it. While there was a lot of lace on the lower half of the gown, I absolutely LOVED the lace in the bust area on the dress – that detail on the gown really made the look even more delicate and pretty. All in all, I just loved it. After Kunis in her Elie Saab gown, my second favorite dress of the evening was hard to choose as well, but I really think that I would give this to Gwyneth Paltrow in her sparkly Calvin Klein Couture sheath dress. I don’t know if I would have liked this look as well if anyone else had done it, but on Paltrow it just really worked. And while it wasn’t the traditional evening gown that you think of when you think Oscars fashion, to me it just really stood out and felt super fresh and fashionable. And what can I say, I love sparkle so all that shine didn’t hurt! Beyond these top two looks, others that I also really liked were Mandy Moore in Monique Lhuillier (I didn’t care for her makeup, but I really did love the dress), Michelle Williams in Chanel, and Halle Berry (of course) in Marchesa. Another dress that really caught my eye was worn by a non-celeb actually, and that was the black dress by Kaufmanfranco that Matthew McConaughey’s girlfriend Camila Alves was wearing. I don’t know if anyone else saw that one, but I actually really liked it a lot.

All in all, I think it was a great night for fashion. I had a great time watching and I hope you all did too. As my husband likes to say, the Oscar red carpet is like my Super Bowl. Too bad it only comes once a year. Anyway, let me know what you all thought about the fashion, I’d love to hear. Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

