Fun Frocks for Wedding Season

Wedding season is here and cute dresses are a must. (Photo courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net and Sharron Goodyear.)

Hello, All! Happy June! I’m sorry there’s been a lack of fun fashion talk the last few weeks. I’ve been soaking up the summer weather that seems to have finally arrived and my time spent in front of my laptop has suffered (but that’s a good thing!). But just because I haven’t been writing a lot it certainly does not mean that fashion and style haven’t been on my mind. No ma’am. On the contrary, fun summer fashions have been at the forefront of my mind and I’ve been busy searching for the perfect pair of sunglasses as well as a great pair of nude strappy sandals. Alas, the search for those things continues, but I’ll be sure to update you once I make a purchase. In the meantime, I thought I would spark some conversation around wedding-wear. I’m not talking what to wear when you’re the one headed down the aisle, I’m talking about what to wear as a guest. Now that it’s June, that means summer wedding season is in full swing. I’ve actually already been to my first wedding of the season and it’s put me in the mood to talk party dresses. I’ve been doing a little searching online and I’ve put together a small grouping of dresses that I think will help get your creative thoughts going if you’ve marked yes on your response card and now just need the perfect dress for the big event. So here’s to summer weddings and parties – happy shopping!

Cotton Blakely Dress (J.Crew – $118) – This little number in gallery green (although it looks more like turquoise to me) could be a great choice if you’re searching for something with color. The shape of the dress will accentuate your waist and the ruffled collar really dresses thing up. Paired with pearls and some nude sandals (like the ones I’m searching for), you could put together a really polished but fun outfit.

Quintessential Shift (Anthropologie – $198) – Although they’re calling this a shift, this dress has really got more character than that. If it were me naming it, I’d call it  “Little Black Dress + Pizzazz.” The large bow on this dress helps set it apart from your traditional LBD and it adds a lot of fun to your look. Paired with some great earrings, this look could be really fantastic.

Flower Stand Dress (Anthropologie – $228) – I’m loving this dress, it’s so ladylike and it just reads summer. The full floral skirt is balanced so nicely with the clean white bodice of the dress. And the bow at the waist ties it all together nicely. A perfect choice if you’re looking for some pattern but still want a clean and polished look.

Glamourous Maxi Dress (Boden – $138) – This dress would be great for a more casual wedding, maybe something outdoors. And it’s just what it sounds like, a dressed up maxi dress. The sequins under the bust area add just a touch of bling to dress things up and I think the dress could be really comfortable and easy to move in if you’re the type that likes to get your groove on at weddings (like I know I am!). 😉

Leave a Reply

