White After Labor Day?

Does the old rule of no white after Labor Day still apply? I think not. (Image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net and Photostock)

So, another summer has come and gone, Labor Day weekend is in the rearview mirror, and the kids in my area are officially now back to school. Fall has really begun. I’ve already read the September issues of my favorite fashion magazines (always the most exciting issues of the year!) and with the chill in the air I’m feeling today it seems that fall fashion must now be in full swing as well. Along with the passing of Labor Day and this transition to fall though comes the age old question, “Do we really need to banish our wardrobes of all white now?”  When I was a kid it seemed that yes would definitely be the answer to that question. You would pull out the white articles of clothing you had right after Memorial Day and then store them away again as soon as Labor Day had passed. No question. But over the last decade or so, as designer fashion has become more mainstream and accessible to the masses through online shopping and discount retailers like Target partnering with some of the fashion industry’s most well-known designers, I think society as a whole has become more daring with their wardrobes. I think people are much more open to venturing beyond the basics and tried-and-true. Heck, just look at J. Crew and how the style there has changed over the years. When I was in high school I shopped J. Crew (through their catalog because I lived in a small town worlds away from an actual J. Crew store, and no, there was no Internet back then) for wool rollneck sweaters and something called a “barn coat” if I recall correctly. J. Crew was about conservative basics – khakis, cords, and cardigans. But today if you visit J.Crew in store or online you’ll see a lot more.  The real key here though is that it’s not just about the individual items, it’s how they’re styled and pulled together.  Traditional fashion “rules” don’t apply. I think a lot of these so-called “rules” are going out the window today – just like the “no wearing white after Labor Day” rule.  Style is all about expressing your best self and your personality through the clothing that you’re wearing and how you’re wearing it. If you think that white is an amazing color on you and you’ve got items in your closet that you think show off your figure in the best way possible then who cares what time of year it is, you can make those items work for you any time.  I for one have a pair of white jeans that will definitely be seeing more wear time in the coming months even though summer is over.  It was way too hot to get them out this summer but I love how they fit and how they can make other items in my wardrobe really shine. So I’ll be wearing those jeans more as the temps continue to drop and you can believe that I will definitely NOT be worried about whether or not it is appropriate to be wearing them. For those of you who want to read up on this topic a bit more, check out this article on Yahoo’s Shine section. And if you want to see some actual examples of how white can work after the summer, see these great photos from Lucky Magazine. Have some more ideas on white? Send me your thoughts, I would love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

