Holiday Parties – Looking for Something to Wear?

This sweater from White House Black Market could be part of a festive party outfit for the holidays.

Looking for a new party outfit for those upcoming holiday shindigs you’ve got on your calendar? Want to break away from traditional holiday-wear? I don’t know about you, but when I think about dressing for the holidays I always tend to pull out items that are red, gold or silver. They’re festive and fun to wear. But how about something a little more subtle for a change? How about black and ivory? Recently I was zipping through the mall on my way to knock a few to-do’s off my list when an outfit in the window of White House Black Market stopped me in my tracks. I don’t normally shop there but I actually put my errands on hold and went into the store to get a closer look. The outfit in the window was a black Fair Isle sweater (shown above) paired with ivory dress pants and a black ruffled scarf. The combination was quite pretty and it made me think that maybe I need to change up my typical holiday uniform and try out something new for a change. And if I can’t give up all of my red and metallic shine I can always add some sparkle with great jewelry or a pop of color with a something like a red scarf or heels. But I’m really liking this toned-down color palette for the holidays this year and I think I just may give it a try. If you’re thinking you might want to try it out as well, below are some fun options you might want to check out. Here’s to the holiday season, and its’ many opportunities to dress up! 🙂

Fair Isle Sweater (White House Black Market – $88) – (As mentioned above)

Natural White Dress (H&M – $49.95) – With leggings and jeweled flats this sweater dress could be a wardrobe staple for the holiday season.

Fair Isle Tunic (Macy’s – $26.98) – With wool tights and tall boots, this piece could be perfect for holiday cocktails with old friends.

Fair Isle Dolman Sweater (Neiman Marcus Last Call – $75) – Pair this with red velvet pants and great earrings for a warm and comfortable, but still festive, party outfit.

Leave a Reply

