Holiday Gift Guide 2011 – My Favorite Things…

A Ralph Lauren cashmere sweater - an Oprah favorite and mine too.

Hello, All! How’s the holiday shopping coming? Making progress? Or completely at a loss for ideas? With December officially underway now I really need to start my Christmas shopping in earnest. I’ve had good intentions of getting a lot done in the last few weeks, but so far not much has been accomplished. Every year it’s the same thing – I want to get an early start and then I end up racing around at the end to do the bulk of my shopping. I love finding great gifts for people but it usually takes me until the last few weeks before the 25th to really get the momentum going. So if you’re having some motivation issues as well, or just looking for some great gift ideas for the people on your list, I’m here to help. This year I decided to put together a list of my favorite things to get your creative juices flowing. It’s sort of like Oprah’s favorite things, except in this case I own only one item on this list. So it’s really more of a fantasy list – in a world where money grows on trees and budgets don’t exist. Now, I realize that most of you aren’t going to run out and buy these exact items for the people on your list, but my hope is that they get you thinking and give you the inspiration you need to find some of your loved ones’ own “favorite things.” So without further ado (insert drumroll sound effect a la Clark Griswold here), following are some of my fantasy/favorite gifts. Enjoy, and happy gift hunting!

Burberry Cashmere Scarf (Burberry – $375) – Ahhh….that unmistakable camel plaid scarf, the one that just screams upper-crust. I love this scarf. I’ve never owned the real thing, but I love it. I once had a pair of Chinese Laundry heels in this pattern and I wore them until they pretty much fell apart. I still miss them. Ahh….Burberry.

Kate Spade Gold Coast Maryanne Handbag (Kate Spade – $445) – There are some brands that are just too cute for their own good and Kate Spade is one of them. I absolutely love this brand, such cute accessories and apparel! And I’ve dreamed of having a Kate Spade handbag in my closet for a long time. My big claim to fame when it comes to Kate Spade is the fact that I once found a pair of her tweed heels on sale at Neiman Marcus Last Call for just $23 – really! I don’t think I’ve ever gotten more compliments on a pair of shoes. Ever.

Seven For All Mankind Jeans Original Bootcut Jeans (Seven for All Mankind – $189) – These jeans are the one thing on this list that I actually own. I have a really hard time finding jeans and pants that fit my body well and really flatter my figure. But these jeans have magical powers and are somehow able to make me look great on even my worst days. Seriously. We’re talking haven’t worked out for a week and ate a tub of double fudge ice cream magical.  Yum.

Tory Burch Reva Ballet Flats (Tory Burch – $195) – I’m not sure why I love these flats but any time I see them on someone or on display in a store I remember how much I love them. They are just the epitome of cute. In any color, leather, suede or patent, I’ll take them.

Ralph Lauren Cashmere Sweater (Ralph Lauren – $498) – Of course, I saved the best for last. A classic cashmere sweater by Ralph Lauren. Love. This look is just so timeless and what could be better in the winter than cashmere. Of course, this item is one of Oprah’s favorites too. Great minds think alike. 🙂

Leave a Reply

