2012 Golden Globe Red Carpet – Who Wore it Best?

The 2012 Golden Globe awards show aired last night so today the talk in the fashion world was all about who was wearing what and which star stole the red carpet with the best look. Between making dinner and tending to my toddler throughout the evening (especially when he decided to dribble dark chocolate Oreo drool on our tan couch!) I didn’t get to focus on the pre-show and the awards themselves as much as I would have liked. But I did see enough to still have my own opinions about the red carpet fashion. What stood out to me the most about this awards show was that I really felt like the best dresses were worn by lesser-known actresses or non-actresses altogether.  I know a lot of people will disagree with me here, and don’t get me wrong – there were some great dresses out there on big names, but for some reason the two dresses that I really loved were worn by Shailene Woodley (an up-and-comer in The Descendants) and Stacy Keibler (George Clooney’s girlfriend). I absolutely loved Woodley’s silvery Marchesa dress. It was delicate and filmy and sparkly all at once, and the v-cut in the back was just so flattering. I loved it. I really do think that if a better known actress had been wearing this dress we would be hearing a lot more about it today. The other standout to me was Stacy Keibler who wore a beautiful and classic red dress. It fit her beautifully and was so elegant but fresh with a great bow detail on the back. The best thing about the whole look was that she managed to look fantastic while still appearing not to try too hard. Some of the dresses you see come down the carpet have so much going on that they just don’t work. To be a best-dressed look the dress has to flatter and bring out the best in the person wearing it – otherwise even a fantastic work of fashion can fall flat. So those are my two cents about the Globes’ red carpet fashion. But enough of what I thought – what did you guys think? How about Theron, Winslet, Williams, or Danes. Let me know what looks you loved, I would love to hear!

2 thoughts on “2012 Golden Globe Red Carpet – Who Wore it Best?

  1. bethany says:

    Love the new blog! Looks great! I LOVED Laura Dern’s emerald gown. Loved the sparkle, the neckline, the cut–gorgeous!

  2. Thanks, Bethany! And yes, I thought that gown stood out on the red carpet as well – very glam! 🙂

Leave a Reply

