I Heart Fall

This graphic heart sweater from J.Crew has been a favorite of mine this fall. Looking for some similar? Check out a few options below.

Okay, so yes, I realize that it’s almost Thanksgiving and that fall is pretty much in the rearview mirror now, but I so wanted to get a great post up about fall fashion this year and it just didn’t happen. Between selling our house, moving to a temporary apartment, trying to get settled, and searching for a new home, my thoughts on fashion this fall just never made it into writing. Boo!

Ah well…. In any case, before we officially move on to winter and the holiday season I thought I would at least post something fun from this fall – – and put a plug in for fun graphic sweaters in the process. As you can see from the photo above, my family and I did manage to make it out to a pumpkin patch and cider mill one afternoon this fall and of course I had to wear something fun and festive for the occasion – – enter in J. Crew’s super cute heart sweater. I actually found this one at the J. Crew Factory store earlier this fall and I believe it was on sale for about $45. It’s been a great addition to my closet and has helped to up the fun factor in a few different outfits. You can go casual like I am in the photo with boyfriend jeans and a vest or jean jacket, but I’ve also loved incorporating this sweater into more dressy looks as well. I think if you work in a creative or less formal environment you can definitely make it office appropriate. I’ve paired it with a black button-down shirt, my black Minnie pants from J.Crew, and a pair of heels or cute flats and it’s worked really well to give a more traditional outfit a fun twist.

Unfortunately, this particular sweater is now sold out at J.Crew but I see they have a few new graphic sweaters that might fit the bill if this look is catching your eye. If you love the heart idea, then check out their new Heartbreaker sweater ($98) that is dotted with lots of smaller hearts instead of one big one (I like the version in dusk/navy). Or, if you’re feeling the graphic thing but just don’t want to look too cute-sy, try the Abstract Diamond sweater ($98). I really like this and can see wearing it for some fun winter activities – sledding, skating, or maybe just curled up with some hot chocolate? For some reason it seems sporty to me, not sure why, but it’s a great break from the norm and certainly catches the eye. For one last option – and admittedly, my favorite – the Giant Bow sweater is super cute and a fantastic option if you’re looking for something to carry you through the upcoming holidays. This sweater would be so perfect with a pair of velvet pants and heels for holiday parties and get-togethers. I love it in mist/black but the burgundy/black version could be just as striking as well.

So what are your thoughts on graphic sweaters? Love them? Leave them? Or any fall trends you were loving this year that you’ll be wearing into winter? I would love to hear your thoughts.

Anyway, that’s it from my end for now. I hope everyone had a fantastic fall and is ready for the holiday season. I know I’m ready for fun party outfits, good food and great friends! 🙂

2 thoughts on “I Heart Fall

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Yay! Love hearing from you, Meg! I love the idea of the graphic sweaters but could never decide if they were for me. You look super cute in your J.Crew sweater! I have been obsessed with Chinti and Parker’s Letter Sweaters – $$$$
    http://www.chintiandparker.com/category/Women%27s+Knitwear/Sweaters

Leave a Reply

