Redbook Gets a Makeover…And Features Some Great Fashion Finds

Looking for a new fashion read? Check out Redbook's makeover and the fun and affordable fashion and decor items the magazine is featuring now.

Looking for a new fashion read? Check out Redbook’s makeover and the fun and affordable fashion and decor items the magazine is featuring now.

So, a few months ago I got a little surprise in my mailbox in the form of Redbook magazine. I’ll admit, I’ve never been a reader of the magazine because honestly, the cover never really looked that interesting and I just didn’t think the target reader was someone in my demographic (for some reason I always felt like the magazine skewed towards a more mature audience). But a few months ago I started receiving complimentary copies for no reason and I started reading the magazine because I’m always desperate for anything to read when trying to pass the time on the treadmill. So I read a couple of issues when they came but didn’t think that I would ever actually want to subscribe. Then came the April issue a few weeks ago – along with a complete redesign – (now the complimentary copies all started to make sense…) and I have to say, I love it! Apparently, the magazine listened to its readers and decided to institute a giant makeover from cover to cover. Included in that makeover was an amped up focus on fashion and style and the commitment to featuring more amazing apparel and home items priced under $50. The result is great features and content that I’m actually interested in and some fantastic fashion and decor finds that fit my budget. See below for a run-down of some of my favorite items from this new Redbook. I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for the next issue to see what they come up with next. Enjoy!

Fashion Under $50

Simply Vera Vera Wang Pintuck Georgette Top (Kohl’s – On sale for $30) – A pretty little sleeveless top that could be worn in a variety of ways – for work under a blazer or with a pencil skirt, for a wedding shower with white ankle pants and heels, or for more casual activities with boyfriend jeans and funky jewelry.

Tweed Love 21 Jacket (Forever 21 – $37) – A multi-colored tweed jacket (like a modern and incredibly inexpensive Chanel jacket) perfect for work or dressed down for a weekend night out.

Navy Eyelet Dress (Old Navy – On sale now for $25) – This is a super cute and classic-looking dress that could work well for so many summer functions. I love the navy but it comes in several other colors as well and you can’t beat the price. Dressed up with fun accessories it could be a great go-to dress for summer your wardrobe.

Home Under $100

Small Wire Side Table (Target – $59.99) – This could be really great with a few small accessories perched on top and a nice break from the norm if most of your furniture is more traditional.

White Studded Pillow (Bed Bath and Beyond – $39.99) – While this may not be a great pillow to lay your head on, I do love the texture and interest it could add a room.

1 Dream Room, 14 Real Ideas

Mid-Century Style Club Chairs (Sears – $195/pair) – These aren’t my usual style but I really like them and for the price they can’t be beat.

Leave a Reply

