The Chambray Shirt – A Versatile and Stylish Must-Have for your Wardrobe

A chambray shirt can be an amazingly versatile workhorse for your wardrobe.

A chambray shirt can be an amazingly versatile workhorse for your wardrobe.

Hello, All! Happy May! I cannot believe this month has FINALLY arrived. As some of you know, baby #2 is due at the end of this month and it’s been a loooong wait. Keeping up with my busy 3-yr-old boy throughout my pregnancy has pretty much worn me out and at this point I’m just counting the minutes until our second little munchkin decides that it’s time to make his or her debut. (I’m really hoping it’s sooner rather than later…)

In the meantime, I’m busying myself with lots of research into home decor ideas as it looks like we may have also finally found a new house (!!!!!) and of course, checking out the latest fashion trends. I’m so dreaming of that moment I’ll be able to dress in non-maternity wear again. (That, and to be able to bend over to pick something up without having to do an awkward sumo-like wrestler squat…arghhhh…that will be a most amazing day…)

Anyway, despite being majorly pregnant, I did recently make a non-maternity clothing purchase when I picked up a chambray shirt through J. Crew Factory online. It’s a piece that I’d been thinking I needed in my wardrobe because a chambray shirt can be such a great staple item year ’round, and when I saw this one on sale for about $45 I decided to go ahead and get it. I love the weight of the shirt and the quality seems really good. I have lots of ideas for how I will eventually wear it once I’m sans baby bump because a shirt like this is so versatile. For summer it can be cute with fun shorts and sandals, over a bathing suit as a beach cover-up, or with a fun printed skirt. And for colder times of the year it’s perfect peeking out of a sweater or warm vest, or layered under a dressier short-sleeve top. Throughout the year you can also dress it up or down depending on the accessories you choose. Need to look more polished? Pair your chambray shirt with a great statement necklace or earrings to add some instant shine.

With that said, looking for a few chambray options yourself now? There are lots out there but check out these super affordable ones from Old Navy ($20), Dillard’s ($15), Rock and Republic ($22), and Ralph Lauren ($69.50).

And for some of my favorite ways to style, check out these fantastic ideas from Jessica at Bows and Sequins, Anna Jane at See Jane, and Lucky Magazine.

Leave a Reply

