Cheers to Summer Vacations!

Hello and happy 4th of July week! I’ve already made it to my vacation destination for the week (Petoskey, MI) but if you’re still in vacation prep mode and needing some inspiration to get you through the chore of packing I thought I would pass along a few quick tips to help.

Make a List – I know this seems obvious but it’s the first place I start so I thought I would include it. Basically, I make a list of every item I need to pack broken down into categories like toiletries, outerwear, tops, bottoms, etc. It helps me plan my outfits ahead of time so I don’t over pack and it also helps me to think through any items I might need for special activities we could be doing while on vacation (biking, going to the beach, going out to dinner, etc.). To make this process really quick and simple I’ve saved two packing lists on my computer – one for summer and one for winter – that I can pull up each time I need to pack and then I just tweak them as needed. As I pull things out to pack I then cross items off the list to make sure I don’t forget anything.

Pick a Color Combo – I don’t do this every time I go on vacation but when planning my outfits it can be helpful to pick a color theme and stick with it for the trip. Doing this allows me to pack just a few accessories that will go with everything and then my individual clothing items can mix and match interchangeably as well as the mood strikes.

For our 4th of July vacation this year I went with a navy and white theme. It's one of my favorite summer color combos and looks so great with the backdrop of a lake and sandy beach.

For our 4th of July vacation this year I went with a navy and white theme. It’s one of my favorite summer color combos and looks so great with the backdrop of a lake and sandy beach.

Edit – Once I’m organized and in full-on packing mode I always give my suitcase a final edit to be sure I’m really bringing only the items I’ll really use. For me, this is always the hardest part because I have a tendency to want to pack extra things just in case. But I really do make an effort to pare things down wherever possible.

One thing that did not get edited in my packing was a few bottles of bubbly that I picked up at a recent shopping trip to Trader Joe's. One of my favorite summer things is a crisp glass of sparkling wine and it's definitely something I'll be enjoying this vacation - preferably with good friends overlooking some fantastic scenery.

One thing that did not get edited in my packing was a few bottles of bubbly that I picked up at a recent shopping trip to Trader Joe’s. One of my favorite summer things is a crisp glass of sparkling wine and it’s definitely something I’ll be enjoying this vacation – preferably with good friends overlooking some fantastic scenery.

So that’s it. Some simple tips to keep you organized so you can get through packing quickly and get to your vacation destination with less fuss and stress. Happy packing and here’s to summer vacations!

Leave a Reply

