Summer Favorites…

How can it be Labor Day already? This summer went by much too quickly. Anyway, to mark the end of the season I thought I would post about a few things I was loving this summer in fashion, beauty, food and tunes. Enjoy!

IN FASHION…I’m a stylist for Stella & Dot so I’m always picking up new things from each season to show at trunk shows and to use myself so I can speak to the quality, styling options, etc. and I have to say that this has been one of my most-used items Stella & Dot items to date. This particular bag debuted last summer but I didn’t pick it up until this past spring and I’m really glad I finally got it. I’m a sucker for navy and white in the summer so this bag went with so many of my outfits and looked equally great dressed up or down depending on where I was headed. In terms of functionality, the bag is quite roomy with several interior pockets and a water bottle holder (I actually put my sunglasses in there) to keep things organized and it was great for tossing in all sorts of items for myself, my kids, and even my husband.

My navy and white Ikat print bag by Stella & Dot

My navy and white Ikat print bag by Stella & Dot

IN FASHION…this Breton-style shirt. I’ve always loved a classic shirt like this and have needed a replacement for my wardrobe because I got rid of an old one I had a few months ago. So when I saw this version on sale in the Boden catalog earlier this summer I quickly made an order. The material is a lighter-weight cotton – I almost wish it was a tad heavier – but for summer weather in Michigan it has been perfect. It’s a great staple piece to have because it just adds interest to any outfit. Wear it classic like Kate Middleton does or use it to create an outfit with a lot of interest by mixing patterns – pair it with a fun floral scarf or top it with a button-down polka dot shirt with just the neckline and bottom of the sleeves peeking out. There are tons of ideas out there on how to style it that work well for summer and it will be a great piece to have for fall as well.

Going patriotic in my Breton-style top at a 4th of July parade

Going patriotic in my Breton-style top at a 4th of July parade

 

IN BEAUTY…this matte lip balm from Revlon. I’ve often thought it would be fun to have some sort of orange-y lip product in my makeup bag for use on occasion to achieve a look sort of like these from J. Crew. So earlier this summer when I was watching a YouTube video from Miss Glamorazzi and she mentioned this lip balm from Revlon in a great orange/tangerine color I figured, why not pick one up. After an exhaustive search of the Internet to check more reviews (I found a really helpful one by Miss Budget Beauty) I finally settled on the same color, Audacious, that I saw on YouTube. So I loaded my little ones into the car one afternoon and ran out to pick up a tube. Once home, I ran straight to the bathroom, tried it on, and…voila! The wild tangerine look I was going for! The balm goes on super bright so I usually blot a couple of times to tone it down but I love how it goes absolutely amazing with sunkissed skin and adds that perfect little pop of color to an overall look. I think it will transition well to fall with certain outfits as well. (The color here isn’t showing up as bright as it does in person but I think you can get the gist.)

My new Revlon Colorburst Matte Lip Balm in Audacious

My new Revlon Colorburst Matte Lip Balm in Audacious

IN FOOD…my daily dose of ice cream. Okay, ice cream is a given in the summertime, right? I became a little addicted this summer though and it spread to my four-year-old as well. It’s to the point where he will absolutely not start his bedtime routine without first having had his own little dish. In in his words, “I want big lumps, Mom. Big lumps.” (Apparently “lumps” = scoops in kid-speak…) So, yeah, we’ve had a lot of ice cream this summer. My favorite summer ice cream was probably from Kilwin’s in Petoskey while on vacation. Yum.

Vanilla ice cream and lemon sorbet from Kilwin's of Petoskey

Vanilla ice cream and lemon sorbet from Kilwin’s of Petoskey

IN TUNESthe song “Chillin’ It” by Cole Swindell. I don’t normally advertise that country music is one of the genres on my radio dial but, well, there it is. Anyway, this is such a great song for listening to in the car when you’re out and about on a fantastic summer day. Makes me want to just keep on driving…(and hope my little guys fall fast asleep for good long naps). ps: Ignore the video, it’s typical country cheesy. Just close your eyes and take in the tunes. Anyone else have a great summer anthem they were loving this summer?

So that’s it for my round-up. I hope everyone out there had an amazing summer. Happy Labor Day, and here’s to a fantastic fall season!

Leave a Reply

